• NEWS: S&D Fraktion gewinnt erste Schlacht um Gerechtigkeit für Rückverfolgbarkeit von Konfliktmineralien

    In den letzten zwei Jahren haben wir einen einsamen, aber ethischen politischen Kampf für den Ausschluss von sogenannten Konfliktmineralien (Mineralquellen, die Konflikte und Gewalt nähren) vom EU-Markt geführt. Jetzt hat das Europäische Parlament dank der Hartnäckigkeit und des politischen Engagements unseres Fraktionsvorsitzenden Gianni Pittella, unserer Fraktionssprecherin für Konfliktmineralien, Marie Arena, und unseres Vorsitzenden des Außenhandelsausschusses, Bernd Lange, am 15. Juni 2016 endlich eine Vereinbarung mit dem EU-Rat über eine neue Regulierung erreicht.

    Gegen den starken Widerstand der Konservativen hat die Sozialdemokratische Fraktion ein rechtlich verbindliches System sichergestellt, um die Rückverfolgbarkeit zu gewährleisten. Die S&D Fraktion will sicherstellen, dass die Regulierung der Verwendung von Konfliktmineralien nicht nur eine Zusatzoption, sondern zwingend ist.

    Das hat den kriminellen Milizen, die in vielen Regionen der Welt – und vor allem im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo – Frauen und Kinder massakrieren, missbrauchen und vergewaltigen, um Zinn, Wolfram, Tantal und Gold abzubauen, einen schweren Schlag versetzt. Die europäischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger müssen sich jetzt der Tatsache bewusst sein, dass ihr Tablet, Handy oder Computer wahrscheinlich Mineralien enthält, an denen das Blut unschuldiger Menschen klebt. Wir kämpfen darum, dies zu stoppen.

    Das Problem der Konfliktmineralien ist kein rein handelspolitisches Problem und darf auch nicht als solches betrachtet werden. Dank des massiven Drucks von Nichtregierungsorganisationen und der öffentlichen Meinung in der Presse und in den sozialen Medien konnten wir die konservativen Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments und die nationalen Regierungen überzeugen, dass ein obligatorisches System für Rohstoffe notwendig ist, um die Transparenz in diesem Sektor zu gewährleisten. Wir haben bewiesen, dass die Europäische Union die Menschenrechte und die Menschenwürde ernst nimmt – über leere Erklärungen und finanzielle Interessen hinaus.

    Europa muss Afrika als einen politischen Partner behandeln und aufhören, diesen großen Kontinent lediglich als auszubeutendes Land zu betrachten.

    Wir zählen auf ihre unterstützung und mobilisierung, um den druck aufrechtzuerhalten – der kampf ist noch nicht beendet!

    !Photo credit: Gwenn Dubourthoumieu/AFP

  •  

    EINE STÄRKERE PARTNERSCHAFT AFRIKA-EU

    Eine reifere und zeitgemäße Partnerschaft zwischen Afrika und der EU kann uns helfen, die globalen Herausforderungen, denen wir gegenüberstehen, zu bewältigen. Gemeinsam können wir die Demokratie und die Menschenrechte stärken und eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche und menschliche Entwicklung in unseren Gesellschaften fördern. 

    Eine gute Koordinierung der EU-Außenpolitik ist unerlässlich, wenn wir die globalen Chancen, die sich uns bieten, optimal nutzen und ein verantwortungsbewusster Akteur auf der internationalen Bühne sein wollen.

Afrika-Woche 2017 der S&D Fraktion

Die Sozialdemokratische Fraktion freut sich, die zweite Afrika-Woche 2017 der S&D Fraktion anzukündigen. Die Veranstaltung wird sich mit dem Thema ‚Die Jugend und die Zukunft Afrikas‘ befassen und vom Montag, 25. September, bis Donnerstag, 28. September, in Brüssel stattfinden.

Das Event wird von der S&D Fraktion in Partnerschaft mit dem Global Progressive Forum und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Europäischen Stiftung für Progressive Studien, der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, der Internationalen Union der Sozialistischen Jugend, der Sozialdemokratischen Partei Europas, Solidar, Rainbow Rose und der Université Libre de Bruxelles organisiert. Weitere Updates und ein vollständiges Programm folgen in Bälde.

Stärkung der Stellung der Frauen

Frauenrechte sind in erster Linie Menschenrechte, aber Gesellschaften, in denen Frauen Gerechtigkeit und Chancengleichheit erwarten können, sind auch erfolgreicher. Deshalb glauben wir, dass die Stärkung der Stellung der Frauen nicht nur eine Frage der Gerechtigkeit ist, sondern auch unerlässlich für den Aufbau erfolgreicher Gesellschaften.

Wir arbeiten mit unseren internationalen Partnern zusammen, um die Stellung der afrikanischen Frauen zu stärken, ihre Rechte zu verteidigen und Gewalt und Diskriminierung zu verhindern. Wir bemühen uns, sicherzustellen, dass die Rechte der Frauen respektiert werden, dass Bildung für alle zugänglich ist und dass Gewalt gegen Frauen beseitigt wird – in Recht und Praxis. Die S&D Fraktion will auch, dass die Stärkung der Frauen zu stärkerer Beteiligung am politischen Leben ihrer Gemeinschaften führt.

Jugendliche

Jugendliche befähigen bedeutet, in Menschen zu investieren, indem man ein Umfeld schafft, in welchem sie ihr Potenzial entfalten können. Eigenverantwortliche und gebildete junge Menschen sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Zukunft ihrer Gemeinschaften – und für die ganze Welt. Wir glauben, dass mit koordiniertem Handeln zwischen afrikanischen und europäischen Partnern junge Afrikaner bei der Bewältigung globaler, regionaler und lokaler Herausforderungen etwas bewirken können.

Wir sind überzeugt, dass es entscheidend ist, Möglichkeiten für afrikanische Jugendliche zu schaffen: Sie haben ein enormes Potenzial, um ihre Gesellschaften zu gestalten, Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu unterstützen, die Menschenrechte und die Grundfreiheiten zu fördern und innovative Lösungen für ihre Probleme zu finden. Wir fordern kostenlose hochwertige Bildung, Investitionen in Fähigkeiten und bessere Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten.

Umwelt

Das Pariser Abkommen vom Dezember 2015 war ein Meilenstein in den internationalen Bemühungen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels. Es muss aber noch viel mehr getan werden, um denjenigen zu helfen, die die Auswirkungen dieser klimatischen Veränderungen jetzt schon spüren. Einige afrikanische Länder sind in dieser Hinsicht besonders anfällig und sehen sich von Hunger, Zwangsmigration und sogar von neuen Konflikten bedroht.

Die Sozialdemokratische Fraktion engagiert sich dafür, die Widerstandsfähigkeit lokaler Bevölkerungen zu verbessern und ihnen zu helfen, das Risiko von Katastrophen zu verhindern und zu senken – und sicherzustellen, dass ausreichende Mittel bereitgestellt werden. Im gleichen Sinne wünschen wir, dass Afrika sein Potenzial ausschöpft und bei der Produktion und Nutzung von erneuerbarer und effizienter Energie ein Weltführer wird, der die Umweltschutznormen einhält.

Vor-Ort-Besuche

Vor-Ort-Besuch der S&D Fraktion in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo 

Vom 7. bis 12. April 2015 ist eine Delegation der Sozialdemokratischen Fraktion unter der Leitung des Fraktionsvorsitzenden Gianni Pittella in die Demokratische Republik Kongo gereist, um Vertreter und Beamte der kongolesischen Regierung, den Sacharow-Preisträger Dr. Denis Mukwege sowie Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft und der Wirtschaft zu treffen, die in den Bereichen Menschenrechte, Demokratie und Kampf gegen Konfliktmineralien tätig sind. 

Die S&D Fraktion hat die Gewalt gegen Frauen und das Verbot von Konfliktmineralien zu Top-Prioritäten ihrer politischen Aktivität im Europäischen Parlament gemacht. Das Ziel der Erkundungsmission war es, die Realität zu erfassen, mit der Opfer von Krieg und Gewalt konfrontiert sind, und besser zu verstehen, wie die Europäische Union den örtlichen Gemeinschaften helfen kann, 20 Jahre Bürgerkrieg zu überwinden. 

Dieser Besuch ist der erste in einer Reihe von Erkundungsmissionen, die in die neue strategische Ausrichtung der Fraktion auf Afrika umfassend integriert sind.  

Das vollständige Besuchsprogramm steht hier zum Download bereit. 

Pressmitteilungen

S&D Group TheProgressives ·
2017-06-21

1. Build a real partnership #withAfrica 2. Fulfil promises on resettlement 3. Reform Dublin now! @giannipittella to @EUCouncil #MigrationEU

S&D Group TheProgressives ·
2017-06-21

Speaking now at #MigrationEU high level conference, @giannipittella makes it clear: Solving the challenges, means w… https://t.co/Y6h6yQKt8i

S&D Group TheProgressives ·
2017-06-20

A strategic partnership of solidarity #withAfrica means investing in education, governance & development -… https://t.co/lpXDkv4URl

S&D Group TheProgressives ·
2017-06-20

Good that Merkel has finally listened to our call for a renewed EU-Africa partnership - @Mariearenaps #withAfrica🔻https://t.co/k6hfdgtbOA

• NEWS: S&Ds win the first battle for justice on the traceability of conflict minerals

    Over the last two years, we have fought a lonely but ethical political battle to ban 'conflict minerals' – sources of minerals which feed conflict and violence – from the European market. Finally, thanks to the stubbornness and political commitment of S&D Group leader Gianni Pittella, our spokesperson on conflict minerals Marie Arena and the S&D chair of the international trade committee Bernd Lange, the European Parliament reached an agreement with the EU Council for a new regulation on 15 June 2016.

    Despite strong Conservative opposition, the Socialists and Democrats secured a legally binding scheme to ensure traceability. The goal of the S&D Group is to ensure that regulating the use of conflict minerals is not some optional add on, but is mandatory.

    This has struck a harsh blow to the criminal militias that, in many regions of the world, especially in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), massacre, abuse and rape women and children in order to exploit the mining of tin, tungsten, tantalum and gold. European citizens must be now aware that their tablet, mobile phone or PC are likely to be made of minerals stained with innocent blood. We are fighting to stop this.

    The conflict minerals problem is not and cannot just be considered as a trade issue. Thanks to strong pressure from NGOs and public opinion in the press and social media, we managed to persuade the Conservative members of the European Parliament, as well as national governments, that a mandatory system for raw materials was needed to ensure transparency in the sector. We have proved that the European Union cares about human rights and human dignity – beyond empty declarations and financial interests.

    Europe must treat Africa as a political partner and stop considering it as a land to be exploited.

    We count on your support and mobilisation to keep up the pressure – the fight is not over!

    Photo credit: Gwenn Dubourthoumieu/AFP

  • A more mature and contemporary Africa-EU partnership can help us address the global challenges we face. Together we can strengthen democracy and human rights, and foster sustainable economic and human development in our societies.

    Good co-ordination of the EU's external policies is vital if we want to make the most of the global opportunities we are presented with and be a responsible actor on the international stage.

S&D GROUP AFRICA WEEK

Tuesday 5 - Monday 11 April 2016

The S&D Group Africa Week is a series of political and cultural events aimed at celebrating Africa-EU relations and discussing ways to give them new directions.

E-CardProgramme

Our Priorities for Africa

Conflict minerals

The S&Ds continue to lead the battle for the traceability of the raw materials used in many everyday products, which are sometimes sourced in conflict zones, fuelling armed conflicts, slave labour and human rights abuses. This has to change and we want to see mining become a source of economic development and benefits for local communities, rather than a dangerous activity responsible for driving people off their land, drawing innocent children into armed conflict and undermining development as a whole.
 
We're fighting to bring in binding EU legislation for European companies involved in this trade so that we can be absolutely sure that the gadgets we buy, like mobile phones, are not produced at the expense of the most vulnerable. 

 

Education

Education is vital for building better futures and we have launched an initiative focused on supporting proper education for young generations missing out on schooling through conflicts and humanitarian crises. We are working together with the United Nations, other EU institutions, and civil-society organisations at a European and global level to create political support and solid financial backing for international projects in this field. Through #EDUCA, we want to offer future generations access to appropriate education in order to help them build more peaceful and responsible societies.

 

Sustainable development goals and eradicating poverty

We believe that sustainable development and eradicating poverty must be global priorities. The Sustainable Development Goals agreed at the UN Summit in September 2015 set out an ambitious agenda, but there is still much to do.

We must work towards stronger development policies to build effective social protection systems and to provide universal access to all levels of education and health for the most vulnerable, creating more inclusive societies. This also means we need a sustainable approach to agriculture and resources promoting responsible energy use, universal access to drinking water and sanitation, and tackling climate change and unsustainable production and consumption. We are fighting for more international environmental co-operation, technological innovations and incentives for governments implementing progressive environmental policies.

The S&Ds are also committed to taking action on gender equality, especially when it comes to education and health.  Women can play a crucial role in fighting against discrimination and for development, for example on improving maternal health and reducing child mortality rates. The current humanitarian crisis at Europe's borders has also highlighted the need for a new global approach, combining the fight against forced migration and the promotion of regular migration as a development engine, for both countries of origin and destination.

 

Read our 10 pledges for solidarity and development.

 

Democracy and good governance

The S&Ds play a leading role in the European Parliament in supporting the people of Africa, addressing humanitarian and development needs, and promoting the values of democracy and good governance. At the beginning of the new millennium, the EU launched a new dialogue with Africa which aimed to build a strategic partnership with the continent. In recent years, the EU has also been active in responding to the Arab Spring in North Africa and to serious challenges in the Sahel and the Horn of Africa regions. Actions intended to address instability in these regions must form part of a broader strategy involving good governance, development, humanitarian action and, above all, restoring the rule of law.

 

Fair trade

Trade can support our development and humanitarian goals. We believe it can and should create economic growth to reduce poverty; help combat discrimination and improve the situation of women and children; strengthen respect for the environment and for social and safety standards; reinforce the rule of law, labour standards and human rights; involve trade unions and civil society; and boost regional integration.

Field visits

S&D Field Visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo

From 7 to 12 April 2015, a delegation of S&D MEPs, led by the President Gianni Pittella, visited the Democratic Republic of Congo (RDC) to meet with the DRC Government and officials, the Sakharov Prize Laureate Dr Mukwege, as well as civil society and business representatives working in the fields of human rights, democracy and the fight against conflict minerals.
 
The S&D Group has made violence against women and the banning of conflict minerals a top priority of its political action in the European Parliament. The aim of the fact-finding mission was to grasp the reality faced by victims of war and violence, and to better understand how the European Union can help local communities overcome 20 years of civil war.

This visit is the first of a series of fact-finding missions fully integrated in the Group's new strategic approach to Africa.
 
The full programme of the RDC visit is available to download here.

Press Releases

Jude Kirton-Darling Jude_KD ·
2016-11-28

In @EP_Trade hearing details of EP-Council agreement on new legislation on trade in #conflictminerals reached last… https://t.co/6nXcVqlBoE