

To Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy / Vice-President of the Commission

Brussels, 27 January 2015

Call for the release of the protesters in Egypt and initiation of the investigation of Shaimaa El-Sabag death

We, the Members of the European Parliament express our condolences to all the families of those who died in protests in Cairo and other cities in Egypt.

We, express our protest against the detention of protesters in Egypt. We believe that the detention of protesters is unjustified and violates the basic human rights of freedom of expression.

We express our protest against use of force, which led to death of at least 18 people. According to the media reports, this was a peaceful protest, therefore, should not come to the use of force from police officers.

We call on the president Abdul Fattah al-Sisi to initiate a fair and open investigation of Shaimaa El-Sabag death. According to activists Shaimaa El-Sabbagh, was peacefully participating in a small protest commemorating the revolution in Cairo's Tahrir Square on Saturday when she was shot dead.

We call on the prosecutor general, to ensure, that those responsible for the Shaimaa El-Sabag death will be brought before a court.

The members of the European parliament

Tanja Fajon Igor Šoltes Miroslav Poche Nessa Childers Miriam Dalli Sergei Stanishev Lynn Boylan Martina Anderson Matt Carthy Liadh Ní Riada José Inácio Faria Beatriz Becerra Basterrechea Julie Ward Maite Pagazaurtundúa Izaskun Bilbao Barandica Kati Piri Jörg Leichtfried Elly Schlein Edouard Martin Ivo Vajgl Afzal Khan Eider Gardiazabal Rubial Merja Kyllönen Demetris Papadakis Anne-Marie Mineur Ulrike Lunacek Josef Weidenholzer Daniele Viotti Judith Sargentini Franc Bogovič Molly Scott Cato Brando Benifei Andrejs Mamikins Carlos Coelho Mark Demesmaeker Iris Hoffmann Marina Albiol Guzmán Fernando Maura Barandiarán Javier Couso Permuy Paloma López Bermejo Linda McAvan

Elena Valenciano Marietje Schaake Luke Ming Flanagan Helga Stevens Sylvie Guillaume Eva Joly Lidia Senra Rodríguez