

SOLIDAR SILVER ROSE AWARDS

MEP Dining Room in the European Parliament 14 June 2016 | 19.00 – 21.00

(Registration from 18.00 onwards at the Altiero Spinelli Entrance)

The 2016 edition of the Silver Rose Awards comes along in a new dress. In order to better highlight the story behind the distinguished efforts towards more global social justice, we will conduct the ceremony in a vivid and interactive format – providing a more personal inside into the work of our four awardees and their organisations. We are looking forward to sharing some enthralling moments with you.

PROGRAMME

Moderation by

Monika Hoegen, Journalist, Communication for Development

- 18.00 Registrations
- 19.00 **Opening** Francisca Sauquillo, Chair of the Silver Rose Awards Jury, SOLIDAR President
- 19:10 **Opening Talk /Introduction to the event Marju Lauristin**, Vice-President of the Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament (S&D Group)

Sergei Stanishev, President of the Party of European Socialists (PES) (tbc)

19:20 **Together for Social Europe Award FairWork**, represented by **Sandra Claassen**, Director of FairWork, the Netherlands

Presented by **Corina Crețu**, Commissioner for Regional Policy, European Commission (*tbc*)

19:35 Organising International Solidarity Award – Human Rights Dr. Nagham Nawzat Hasan, Yezidi Activist and Gynaecologist, Iraq

Presented by Evelyn Regner, Member of the European Parliament (S&D Group) (tbc)

19:50 Organising International Solidarity Award – Fundamental Rights Journalist Union of Turkey (TGS), represented by Uğur Güç, President of the Journalist Union of Turkey

Presented by **Peter Scherrer**, Deputy General Secretary of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC) (*tbc*)





Silver Rose Awards 2016 | 1





20:05 Building Learning Societies Award

La ligue de l'enseignement, represented by Jean-Michel Ducompte, President of La Ligue de l'enseignement, France

Presented by Julie Ward, Member of the European Parliament (S&D Group) (tbc)

- 20:20 Closing Conny Reuter, Secretary General of SOLIDAR
- 20:30 Reception
- 21:00 End

2016 Silver Rose Award Jury

Chair of the Jury

Francisca Sauquillo, Chair of the Silver Rose Awards Jury, SOLIDAR President and President Movimiento por la Paz, MPDL

Members of the Jury

Wellington Chibebe, Deputy General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

Ralph Coeckelberghs, Former Secretary General of Solidarité Socialiste FCD

Knut Fleckenstein, Vice-President of SOLIDAR and the S&D Group, MEP (SPD, Germany) and Chair of SOLIDAR member Arbeiter-Samariter-Bund (ASB) Germany

Zita Gurmai, President of PES Women

Seamus Jeffreson, Director of CONCORD

Agnes Jongerius, MEP for the S&D Group (PvdA, the Netherlands)

Marju Lauristin, Vice-President of the S&D Group and MEP (Sotsiaaldemokraatlik Erakond, Estonia)

Simone Süsskind, President of Actions in the Mediterranean

Elena Valenciano, MEP for the S&D Group (PSOE, Spain)







