

SOLIDAR Silver Rose Awards DRAFT PROGRAMME

MEP Dining Room of the European Parliament 03 June 2015 19.00 – 21.00 (Registrations: 18.00, please arrive on time)

Moderator: Jacki Davis, Meade Davis Communications

- 18.00 Registrations
- 19.00 Opening

Francisca Sauquillo, Chair of the Silver Rose Awards Jury, Acting SOLIDAR President and President Movimiento por la Paz, MPDL

19:10 Welcoming speech

Gianni Pittella, President of the Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament (tbc)

Introduction to the event

Sylvie Guillaume, Vice-President of the European Parliament

19:20 Organising International Solidarity Award

Elizabeth Tang, International Domestic Workers Federation

Presented by Sharan Burrow, Secretary General of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

The International Domestic Workers Federation is the result of a large campaign linked to the ILO Convention 189 which aims to build a strong, democratic and united domestic/household workers global organization to protect and advance domestic workers' rights everywhere. Secretary General Elisabeth Tang will accept this award on behalf of the Federation.

19:35 Building Learning Societies Award

Sosyal Yasama ve Egitme Katki Dernegi

(Association for Contribution to Education and Social Life – SOYAD)





Silver Rose Awards 2015 | 1





Presented by Marju Lauristin, MEP for the S&D Group (Sotsiaaldemokraatlik Erakond, Estonia)

SOYAD was chosen by the Silver Rose Awards Jury for establishing a network of volunteers to work with mentally disabled, autistic and physically handicapped children and their families in Turkey. This committed and growing organisation has established 3 volunteer centres in the country, assisting 450 children who would otherwise be totally dependent on care in the home.

19:50 Introduction to the second part of the evening

Marije Laffeber, Deputy Secretary General of the Party of European Socialists (PES) (tbc)

19:55 Together for Social Europe Award

Aide et Defense des Jeunes Isoles Etrangers (ADJIE)

Presented by Neven Mimica, European Commissioner for International Cooperation & Development (tbc)

ADJIE assists unaccompanied minors and young immigrants who arrive in France without legal guardians to access support according to their rights within the French legal system and the international convention on human rights. The most recent tragedies in the Mediterranean have made this one of the more poignant awards to be given out this year. The majority of the Jury was also in favour of selection this specific organization for the Silver Rose Awards because of the current challenges Europe faces around the exclusion of young people, especially those with a migrant background.

20:10 Lifetime Achievement Award

Günter Wallraff, writer and undercover journalist

Presented by Knut Fleckenstein, Vice-Chair of the S&D Group, Member of the European Parliament (SPD, Germany) and Chair of SOLIDAR member Arbeitersamariterbund (ASB) Germany

This very special award is being given this year to Günter Wallraff for his consistent commitment to exposing human rights violations through undercover journalism and publication of many books exposing human rights abuses.





Silver Rose Awards 2015 2





20:25 Closing Conny Reuter, Secretary General, SOLIDAR Followed by a reception

21:00 End

Silver Rose Award Jury

Chair of the Jury

Francisca Sauquillo, Chair of the Silver Rose Awards Jury, Acting SOLIDAR President and President Movimiento por la Paz, MPDL

Members of the Jury

Wellington Chibebe, Deputy General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

Ralph Coeckelberghs, Former Secretary General of Solidarité Socialiste FCD

Knut Fleckenstein, Vice-Chair of the S&D Group, MEP (SPD, Germany) and Chair of SOLIDAR member Arbeitersamariterbund Germany

Zita Gurmai, former MEP Hungary, President of PES Women

Seamus Jeffreson, Director of CONCORD

Agnes Jongerius, MEP for the S&D Group (PvdA, the Netherlands)

Marju Lauristin, MEP for the S&D Group (Sotsiaaldemokraatlik Erakond, Estonia)

Simone Süsskind, President of Actions in the Mediterranean

Elena Valenciano, MEP for the S&D Group (PSOE, Spain)





