Following the European elections held on 25 May 2014, the European Parliament will hold its first plenary session in Strasbourg from 1st to 3rd July. This session will mark the constitution of the new elected European Parliament and the start of its 8th legislature (2014-2019).

On Tuesday, MEPs will elect the president the European Parliament for a period of two and half years. They will then elect 14 vice-presidents and 5 quaesters (responsible for administrative and financial matters concerning the MEPs) for a period of two and half years.

The Socialists and Democrats will back Martin Schulz (Germany) as their candidate for president of the European Parliament. The S&Ds will present their candidates for the posts of vice-presidents and quaesters.

Past sessions