

Group of the Progressive Alliance of **Socialists** & **Democrats** in the European Parliament

European Parliament
Rue Wiertz 60
B-1047 Bruxelles
T +32 2 284 2111
F +32 2 230 6664
www.socialistsanddemocrats.eu

PARTICIPANT LIST

Conference on the Future of EU Trade Policy 29th-30th November

INTERPRETATION: DE, FR, EN, EL, ES, IT, PT

SPEAKERS

Cecilia Malmström European Commissioner for Trade

Cecilia Malmström has served as European Commissioner for Trade since 2014. Ms Malmström has pursued an ambitious trade agenda to the benefit of European citizens, SMEs and the broader economy. Furthermore, she is a representative and a negotiator of the EU in the international trade fora, and actively works with developing countries to boost the EU's strategic partnership and ensure the upholding of European values such as human rights, social and environmental protection.



Pascal Lamy Former Director-General to the WTO

Pascal Lamy, a French politician and businessman and was the Director-General of the WTO from September 2005 to August 2013. Between 1999 and 2004, Pascal Lamy was the Commissioner for Trade at the European Commission. After his tenure in Brussels, Pascal Lamy spent a short period as President of "Notre Europe", a Paris-based think-tank working on European integration, as associate Professor at the l'Institut d'études politiques in Paris and as advisor to Poul Nyrup Rasmussen (President of the European Socialist Party).



Eveline HerfkensFormer Ambassador to the WTO

In the period of 1981 to 2002, Eveline Herfkens was a member of the Dutch Labour Party. She is the Founder of the UN Millennium Campaign, in which she held an official position from 2002 to 2008. She continued to stay involved with the Campaign on a volunteer basis until 2010. Currently, Ms Herfkens participates in the work of several ING's and international organisations with a focus on economic and social development.



Paul Magnette Former Minister-President of Wallonia

Paul Magnette is a politician for the Belgian Socialist Party, the current Mayor of Charleroi and former political science professor at the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB). He was Minister-President of the French-speaking region of Wallonia from 2014 to 2017.



Raffaele Mauro Petriccione Deputy- Director General of DG Trade

Raffaele Mauro Petriccione has had an extensive career within the European institutions, predominantly dealing with trade. Prior to his current position, Mr Petriccione has had an active career as Director for relations with Asia, the Americas, the Far East and with Member States, as well as Director for WTO and OECD coordination.



Luca Visentini General Secretary of ETUC

Luca Visentini's trade union experience encompasses 26 years at regional, national and European level. He boasts experience in collective bargaining, and has added responsibilities of dealing with migration and mobility, education and training, EU budget, structural funds, economic and social cohesion, and regional policy.



Adrian Smith Professor at Queen Mary University

As a fervent researcher, Mr Smith's main interests lie in the relations between uneven development and political economy. Mr Smith is part of a special research project entitled "Working Beyond the Border" which investigates the impact of the new generation of FTAs on workers, focusing specifically on Trade and Sustainable Development chapters.



NATIONAL PARLIAMENTARIANS

COUNTRY	NAME	
AUSTRIA	Kai Jan Krainer (SPÖ) Member of the Committee on European Union Affairs in the Austrian Parliament	
BELGIUM	Dirk Van der Maelen (SP-a) Member Chamber of Representatives (Former Secretary and Vice-Chairman of the Belgian Chamber of Representatives of SP-a)	
	Olga Zrihen (PS) - Committee of Regions Representative Member of the Walloon Parliament & Vice-President of the Belgian Senate (former Vice-President of the PES and former Member of the European Parliament) Vice-President of the PES Group in the	
GERMANY	Dirk Wiese (SPD) Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy	
GREECE	Spyros Danellis (POTAMI) Member of the Committees on Production and Trade, Committee on Foreign Affairs & Defense, at the Hellenic Parliament (Former Member of the European Parliament)	

HUNGARY	László Szakács (MSZP)	
HUNGARY	Vice-Chairman of MSZP, MP at the Hungarian National Assembly	
ITALY	Marina Berlinghieri (PD) Member of the European Union Policy Committee of the Italian Chamber of Deputies	
	Micaela Fanelli (PD) - Committee of Regions Representative CoR rapporteur on the trade package Mayor of Riccia and a representative of the Italian Association of Municipalities/ANCI	
PORTUGAL	Fernando Rocha Andrade (PS) Former Secretary of State of International Affairs, Taxation and Industry	
SPAIN	José Ignacio Sánchez Amor (PSOE) Member on the Committee of Foreign Affairs of the Congress of Deputies	
SWEDEN	Åsa Eriksson (Socialdemokraterna) Member on the Business and Industry Committee at the Riksdagen	

UK Barry Gardiner (Labour Party)

Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade, Energy and Climate Change in the House of Commons



Other National Parliaments (represented by advisors)

- 1. Katarina Nevedalova (Slovakia)
- 2. Andreas N. Psaras (Cyprus)
- 3. Nathalie Schmit (Luxembourg)
- 4. Aaltonen Valtteri (Finland)