In the wake of the European elections, the S&D MEPs will tomorrow, 18 June 2019, elect their new Group President.

Following the opening of candidacies and the withdrawal of current Group president Udo Bullmann, MEP Iratxe García Pérez is the only candidate at this moment in time standing for election tomorrow.

The election will start at 3pm in the S&D Group room.

Once elected, the S&D Group will hold a press point with the newly-elected president at around 16.30h in front of the Group room (JAN 4Q2).

On Wednesday, 19 June 2019, there will be a press conference with the new Group president at 9.30h in the EP pressroom ‘Anna Politkovskaya’ (Paul Henri Spaak building, Room PHS 0A50). The press conference will also be webstreamed on the following link.

S&D press contact

Tuttlies Utta
Head of Department